shoulders and hands

At the core of my torso

My spine is curved and

Nerves trap occasionally

Creating a dull, or sharp pain

I used to take four co-codamol per day

Usually

They didn’t ease the pain

Which was frustrating, but I felt

Indifferent

And then began to use a rucksack

And learnt to pack light

Discarding weighty misconceptions

Expectations

Which burdened my broad shoulders

Which stopped the blood flow

Which left my fingers to turn colder

First white

Then blue

Then to fiery red

I’d rather pack light

Bare only what you need

No longer self-impede

Leave a Reply

